Free Form Blogging Today

I have no idea what to write about today. I went through my very short list of ideas I’ve written down and realized that two thirds of them I’ve already used and the other third are either short story or novel ideas; a bit more that I need for a blog entry.

Instead of a specific topic today, I’m just going to mention a few things that I’ve been reading, researching or just interested in lately.

I’m still working my way through the wonderful book, The Greatest Show on Earth by Richard Dawkins. It has rekindled my interest in evolution and genetics.

In high school I was fascinated with Gregor Mendel’s studies of inheritance in pea plants in the 19th century. I was entranced by how he patiently, over years, bread pea plants and noted how they passed on certain traits. Dawkins’ book, of course, deals more with Darwin’s theory of evolution and recent advances in evolutionary biology, but the basic concept of inheritance that Mendel described still holds true, we just have much more information about genes and DNA that explain the mechanisms that he described. It’s fascinating stuff. I’m trying to get my hands on biology textbooks for my own study. Since I don’t have the time and money to go back to school to study biology, I’ll have to just teach myself.

I’m also reading Phil Plait’s Bad Astronomy, which takes on common misconceptions about astronomy such as how the tides work, why the sky is blue. I wanted to be an astronomer when I was in high school and I find these things so cool.

I download a work of fiction to my Kindle today. I haven’t read any fiction in a long time, I’ve been reading a lot of non-fiction works over the past few years. The book I have is New York: The Novel, by Edward Rutherfurd, the author of Sarum and London, two of the best books I’ve ever read. It tells the story of New York City from the time when Native Americans inhabited that area up until present by tracing the history of several fictional families. If it is anywhere as near as good as the two books I mentioned it should be a great read.

Well, that’s about it for now. Hopefully, I’ll be back to my normal blogging style tomorrow. Until then, remember, extraordinary claims require extraordinary evidence (Thank you Carl Sagan!).

Leave a Reply

