Just Who’s Lord Are We Talking About Anyway?

There was a paper recently publish in Virology Journal titled,  Influenza or not influenza: Analysis of a case of high fever that happened 2000 years ago in Biblical time.

The first line from the Abstract states:

“The Bible describes the case of a woman with high fever cured by our Lord Jesus Christ.”

I’m not going to go into the details of the article because I don’t think you can make any kind of convincing argument for knowing what disease actually afflicted a woman 2000 years ago whom we don’t even know for sure even existed.

What I do want to discuss is the use of phrases like, “our Lord Jesus Christ”, in any kind of public article or statement that isn’t meant to be religious in nature.  The reason is that the writer’s “Lord” may not be my “Lord”.  After all, if my personal “Lord” happens to be Thor or Isis or The Great Green Arkleseizure , I certainly wouldn’t be so arrogant to presume that  He, She or It is is also your personal “Lord”.  

In fact, I wouldn’t presume anything about your personal beliefs.  The only thing I can safely assume about any of my readers, or people I might meet for that matter, are things that we all have in common.  We all have families, we all have (or had) parents, grand-parents, we are all citizens of cities/towns/villages, states/territories, and countries, we all love, hate, know happiness, sadness and anger.  But to assume that you are as acquainted with epistemology and theology of The Great Green Arkleseizure as I am and to further assume that the GGA is also your “Lord” is arrogant and possibly insulting, especially if your “Lord” is Jesus or Vishnu or Jove.

Personal religious beliefs have no place in public venues.  I don’t believe this because I’m against other peoples’ beliefs, but because I respect everyones’ right to believe however they choose.  To acknowledge one groups’ “Lord” over all the hundreds of others is to marginalize and denigrate the right to believe of all those who’s “Lord” doesn’t happen to be Jesus.

This is the true meaning of freedom of religion and we need to respect that freedom in every public forum and in our dealings with everyone we meet.

Leave a Reply

