I Do Other Things Besides Skepticism

This blog, as it’s title suggests, is about freethinking, skepticism, humanism, science and atheism (thats a lot of ‘isms’!). I tend to try to stick to these themes. I do, however, have other interests and I’d like to take this blog entry to introduce you to them. If you find them interesting, you can visit my other site where I showcase these interests and talents.

Besides blogging about freethinking and such, I am also a writer. I write poetry and fiction. I have been writing poetry for as long as I can remember. I can’t think of a time when I didn’t want to write. I even won the Flag Day writing competition in both 3rd and 5th grades. I love writing more than any living thing (you know, like people and dogs!). I’ve had a poem and a short story published. I probably would have more published if I bothered to focus on writing fiction, but I have too many other things that interest me.

I am also a photographer. I have been taking pictures since my parents gave me their old Brownie camera when I was about 12 years old. In high school, I was in the photography club. I used to develop my own black & white film and I had my own darkroom in my bedroom closet with an enlarger so I could make prints. My pride and joy for many years was my Olympus OM-1 35mm SLR camera. It was totally manual and took wonderful photos. But, sadly, I found that was neglecting to get my film developed (I still have several rolls kicking around that I should bring to Walmart before they stop process film altogether!). I finally gave up and switched to digital photoraphy.

The camera I have now is a Sony CyberShot. It’s got a 12x optical zoom and takes pretty good pictures, but its functionality is limited. For example, I can’t manually focus, which is a real pain in the butt sometimes. I’m saving up for a good digital SLR that comes as close as possible to my old OM-1.

In addition to writing and photography, I also play guitar. I’ve recorded a few songs that I need to post somewhere for people to hear.

If you are interested in seeing my writing and photography, please visit my art page at Deviantart.com. WARNING! I don’t hold back where my art is concerned. There are writings, photos, and journal entries that deal with very mature themes. This is the place where I bare my soul. There are nudes, there is frank and open talk about sex and emotions and relationships. If you think any of this might bother you, then I’d suggest taking a pass on it. Otherwise, please go and find out more about me that you probably would ever want to know! (Don’t say I didn’t warn you!).

That’s it for off topic topics. Back to your regularly scheduled atheistic rants and freethinking inquiry!

Leave a Reply

