Skepticon 3 Is Coming! And I’m Going!

Skepticon 3 is in three weeks. It’s being held in Springfield, MO. I’ve managed to get Saturday off from work so I’ll be leaving around 4:30am on Friday, November 19th. Its a six and a half hour drive so I should get there right around the time it’s going to start. I’ve had my hotel room booked for over a month now (I booked a double because I thought my wife was coming, but she decided she wanted a divorce instead, so if you need a room, maybe we can work something out!).

I am so excited! This is my first really big conference and all the heavy hitters will be there. Also, my lovely friend Maria Myrback will be there. I interviewed her for a podcast back in the spring. She is one of the first people I made contact with in the skeptical world and she’s been a real inspiration. I’m so excited to meet her!

I’ve had PZ Myers agree to be interviewed for my book and I’m hoping to corner pretty much everyone on the speakers list while I’m there. I also plan to interview attendees as well. I just need to buy a USB mic before I go.

The attendance is free so if you can make it, please come on down!

Here is the exciting line-up for the three day conference:

Schedule of Events

November 19th

Time
Speaker
Event Title
8:30
Registration
Begins!
11:00
J.T. Eberhard
Opening Ceremony
11:30
Amanda Marcotte
The Role of Irrationality in Sexism
12:30
David Fitzgerald
The Ten Thousand Christs and the Evaporating Jesus
1:30-1:45
Break
1:45
Debbie Goddard
2:45
John Corvino
Coming Out Skeptical
3:45-5:45
Dinner Break
5:45-6:45
Moderator: D.J. Grothe
Confrontation vs. Accomodation panel
7:00-8:00
Moderator: Julie Galef
Does skepticism lead to atheism? panel
10PM+
Hotel parties

November 20th

Time
Speaker
Event Title
10:30
Greta Christina
Atheism and sexuality
11:30
D.J. Grothe
12:30
Joe Nickell
1:30-2:30
Lunch Break
2:30
Dan Barker
3:30
Richard Carrier
Are Christians Delusional?
4:30-6:00
Dinner Break
6:00
James Randi
7:00
P.Z. Myers
8:00
Rebecca Watson
9:00+
Booze
Pub Night – Location TBD

November 21st

Time
Speaker
Event Title
9:00
Sam Singleton
Patriarchs and Penises
10:00
Victor Stenger
The Abuse of Physics by Theists and Spiritualists
11:00
J.T. Eberhard
Dear Christian
12-12:30
Lauren Lane
Closing Ceremony
12:30-3:00
Lunch

Leave a Reply

