Christianity, Atheism, Quotes and Love

There was a bit of a kufluffle about an article in Ms. Magazine that I posted a short comment about on Facebook, which you can see right here:

Please get the trust about sexism and woman among atheists out there! http://freethinkingfordummies.com/2010/11/02/the-main-stream-media-totally-misrepresents-sexism-and-the-role-of-women-among-atheists/

I got an interesting comment from my friend who is a Christian with a quote from the bible:

Proverbs 27:6 “Faithful are the wounds of a friend, But the kisses of an enemy are deceitful.”

I know that people love to use quotes from just about anywhere to comment about just about anything. This isn’t the first time she’s responding to a comment of mine with either a quote from the bible or a Christian related saying.

I love my friend dearly, she’s a wonderful woman, mother and friend, but my openness about my atheism has had a weird effect on our friendship. I suppose that I can understand that. It is also my fault for posting a bunch of atheist quotes on FB one time, so I can understand her responding with Christian quotes. I should have stopped to think about how arrogant it must have sounded to post all those quotes.

I think that quotes are overused, and I’m just as guilty as anyone else of that. I am trying now to use quotes, no matter what their source, only if they fit the context of what I’m taking about and actually add something to it. Quotes are too often used not to augment an argument or point of view, but in place of a well reasoned argument. This is basically an argument from authority logical fallacy.

So I must apologize to Sharon for my arrogance. If you are reading this, Sharon know that I love you dearly and always wil.

Leave a Reply

