Meditation In a Starbucks

I’m writing this as I sit in a Starbucks on my lunch break.  I was racking my brain trying to think of something to write about when after a few moments of staring at nothing out the window the music and conversations seemed to blend into one low hum.  I suddenly realized that I had just spent several moments with no thoughts in my mind.  It was very calming and helped me to feel centered.

This immediately made me think about the book I am reading, When Things Fall Apart, by Pema Chodron.  It was recommended by my therapist who said I might find some useful coping strategies in it.  Being a Buddhist, she writes a lot about meditation and how to teach yourself to keep your mind clear.  The idea isn’t to lose yourself or escape from the world, but to center yourself and accept where you currently are in the world.

I was, and still am, skeptical while reading the book.  She hasn’t gotten into any kind of spiritual ideas or concepts, outside of some very vague mentions of energy.  I can see the value in centering yourself and accepting where and what you are at that moment.  I just don’t want to see if devolve into talk of spiritual mumbo jumbo and “life” energy.    I suppose we will see.  I’ll be sure to let you know.

Leave a Reply

