A Lot Has Happened

If there are any actual readers of this blog still out there, you have noticed that there hasn’t been much activity here lately, and for good reason.

I lost my job almost three weeks ago.  I’ve been applying like crazy and I’ve had two interviews, one of which I didn’t get and the other I’m still waiting to hear about.

You would think I’d have more time to write, and I do.  I also have plenty of ideas of things to write about as well.  The thing is, with being bi-polar II, depression and anxiety go hand and hand.  Needless to say, both have been playing havoc with my mood and my ability to focus.  

My days have become a blur of several hours of job searches, filling out applications, etc., followed by some light house work, but mostly wandering from computer, to book, to TV, to just staring off into space, unable to concentrate on anything for more than a few minutes.

I’ve written here before about depression and mental health.  It can be debilitating and it is a daily struggle.  At least I’m keeping up with the job searching and and meeting with recruiters.  Unemployment is coming in and savings are covering a few months of rent and such.  I’ll be ok, but at 52, age discrimination is becoming a real worry.  Luckily, I’ve got a long and varied background in computer administration.  Everything from desktops to the largest servers, and OS’s from Windows, to Unix, Linux, Solaris and AIX.  Its a pretty broad, but also deep, background.  Also, the job market is heating up.  It is just a matter of time.   Either than, or a career change.  Ugh!  I hear Walmart’s hiring (shudder).

Leave a Reply

