The Beatles “The Beatles – AKA The White Album” – What Might Have Been

George Martin really wanted the Beatles to release "The Beatles"  AKA, "The White Album", as a regular single album rather than a double album, picking the best 14 songs.  The Beatles insisted that they release everything they recorded as a double album.

There has been fan speculation since as to what a single album would have looked liked.  As far as I know, George Martin has never said what songs he would have put on a single album.

I have mulled over this for a long time.  I think I might have posted my list on Facebook a while back, but I can’t remember what songs it contained, so I’ve put together a new list, which includes rearranging the track list from the order of the songs on the original album.  I think it has a nice flow and feel to it and represents the best of the songs on the original.

I know that there will be plenty of people who won’t agree with my choices, but hey, I did it to please myself, no one else. 

There is one significant thing about my proposed version of the album that makes it something that The Beatles, had they decided to release "The White Album" as a single, would never had agreed to.  I challenge my readers to let me know the single most important reason why these song choices would never have been approved for "The Beatles".

So without further delay, here is my version of "The White Album".

Side 1
Back in the U.S.S.R.
Dear Prudence
Glass Onion
The Continuing Story of Bungalow Bill
Happiness Is a Warm Gun
Piggies
Blackbird

Side 2
While My Guitar Gently Weeps
Don’t Pass Me By
Julia
Yer Blues
Sexy Sadie
I’m So Tired
Helter Skelter

Leave a Reply

